Shoyu is the foundation of Japanese cuisine, it is the essential ingredient. Shoyu is the most important condiment used to flavour food and also used to cook with.
Health benefits of Shoyu: As opposed to other soyfoods such as tempeh, soymilk or tofu, shoyu does not contain a lot of isoflavones. Therefore eating shoyu may not bring the normal health benefits of soy. Shoyu also contains a lot of salt and should be used sparingly to flavor dishes.
Is Shoyu gluten free? Although shoyu and many other soy sauces are not wheat free, the gluten seem to be no longer present in the final product.
Depending on the ingredients there are different types of soy sauces:
- Shoyu: this soy sauce is mixture of soya beans and wheat
- Tamari: this soy sauce is only made from soya beans
Water, organic whole soybeans, organic wholewheat, salt, alcohol(<3%)
Faithful to Nature is an online retail store, specialising in a wide selection of natural supplements, vitamins, superfoods and health-related products. Our green team is all about helping you unlock your full potential to live a healthy life; however we are not medical professionals. Please do consult your health care practitioner when seeking medical advice.