Free Delivery nationwide for all orders over R400

Stearic acid

saturated fatty acid

Stearic acid

Other Name(s):

Octadecanoic Acid; Cetylacetic Acid; CAS# 57-11-4; E 570

Stearic acid is a naturally occurring part of many animal and plant fats. The most common source of stearic acid is beef tallow. However, the two richest sources of stearic acid are cocoa butter (at 34%) and shea butter (between 28% & 45%).

Is Stearic acid Faithful to Nature?

Yes.

Stearic acid is a naturally derived ingredient with many benefits and uses that can be made from sustainable resources. If you follow a vegan lifestyle or wish to avoid palm oil derivatives, be sure to shop using our “Vegan” and “Palm Oil Free” filters.

Benefits: Why is Stearic acid Used?

Improves Texture

Stearic acid is used to thicken water-based skin care products for a creamier texture.

Binding Fuction

Stearic acid binds ingredients together in health, vitamin and mineral supplements.

Hydrates

Stearic acid hydrates the skin, leaving it softer and more supple.

Cools

Stearic acid is often used to create a cooling sensation when skincare products are applied.

Stearic acid is used in a very large variety of different household products from personal care lotions, creams and deodorants to foundations, mascaras and health supplements. It also occurs naturally in many oils and butters used in foods.

Stearic acid is isolated from natural fat sources. The raw fat source is saponified in boiling water and the resulting mixture is distilled and the various fatty acids can be separated.

Experts report that the most commonly used raw materials for the manufacture of stearic acid are beef tallow, palm oil, cottonseed oil and safflower oil. As such, vegans, strict vegetarians, those wishing to reduce their consumption of animal byproducts/GMOs and those adhering to a Kosher or Halal diet should avoid products containing stearic acid unless it is certified vegan, Kosher or Halal by an accredited third-party organisation.

Stearic acid, as a natural component of plant fats, can be found in single ingredient products like coconut oil, cocoa butter, olive oil, shea butter, sunflower seed oil and much more.

Stearic acid is used in the large-scale production of paraffin-based candles. Its addition hardens the candles and since a very common source of the ingredient is beef tallow, there’s a very strong possibility that your candles aren’t vegan.

Notice: The information provided here is not intended as medical advice and is for educational purposes only.

Products Containing Stearic acid

There are no products matching the selection.

Please wait...


Item Successfully Added to Cart
Product successfully removed from basket! Go to checkout